The mission of the National Board is to foster improved healthcare outcomes, patient safety, and patient/provider communication, by elevating the standards for and quality of medical interpreting through a nationally recognized and validated certification for medical interpreters.

The CMI certification program is governed by the National Board of Certification for Medical Interpreters (National Board), an independent division of the International Medical Interpreters Association (IMIA).
 

The purposes of the National Board are to:

  • Develop, organize, oversee, and promote a national medical interpreter certification program in all languages.
  • Promote patients and providers working with credentialed medical interpreters who have met minimal national standards to provide accurate and safe interpretation.
  • Ensure credibility of national certification by striving to comply with national accreditation standards including transparency, inclusion, and access.
The Board of Directors of the National Board consists of 10-12 voting members that include medical interpreters, trainers, health care providers, industry representatives, and a public member. Initial Board members were selected by a public process and independent selection committee. Subsequently, Board Directors are recruited through a Nominating Committee process and are elected by the members of the National Board.

Directors 

Carlos Martinez-Morales

Carlos Martinez-Morales, BS; CMI-Spanish

Manager Language Services, Intermountain Healthcare, Utah-Idaho

Chair

nbcmichair@certifiedmedicalinterpreters.org

+ Bio

Jazmin Manjarrez

Jazmin Manjarrez, CMI-Spanish

ViceChair

nbcmivicechair@certifiedmedicalinterpreters.org

+ Bio

Nouria Belmouloud

Nouria Belmouloud BA & MA in English, Linguistics and Literature

Manager, Duke International Patient Services, Durham, North Carolina

Secretary

secretary@certifiedmedicalinterpreters.org

+ Bio

Aida Adams

Aida Adams

Director of Language Services, Catholic Charities of Louisville, KY

Director

aida@certifiedmedicalinterpreters.org

+ Bio

Anastasia Antoniou

Anastasia Antoniou

Director

anastasia@certifiedmedicalinterpreters.org

+ Bio

Ricardo Diaz

Ricardo Diaz-Canedo, MD, CMI-Spanish

Director

ricardo@certifiedmedicalinterpreters.org

+ Bio

Gi Eun Ho

Gi Eun Ho, CMI-Korean

Director

gieun@certifiedmedicalinterpreters.org

+ Bio

Ana Alza Rodriguez

Ana Alza Rodriguez, CMI/CTP-Spanish, BA Spanish, BSM

Director

ana@certifiedmedicalinterpreters.org

+ Bio

Barry Stratford

Barry Stratford, Esq

Director

barry@certifiedmedicalinterpreters.org

+ Bio

Scott Swanson

Scott Swanson

Language Line Solutions, Monterey, CA

Director

sswanson@certifiedmedicalinterpreters.org

+ Bio

Graciela Zozaya

Graciela Zozaya, CMI-Spanish

Manager Language Access Services, Harris Health System, Houston, Texas

Director

graciela@certifiedmedicalinterpreters.org

+ Bio



Staff

Casita Wild

Casita Wild, MS

Operations Manager

+ Bio

Beverly North

Beverly North, MS

+ Bio

Marissa Gearhart

Marissa Gearhart

+ Bio

Tamarleigh Grenfell

Tamarleigh Grenfell

+ Bio